Books · Life

A Reading Challenge

  1. A book about history –
  2. A biography or autobiography –
  3. A book about a famous person –
  4. A book outside your comfort zone –
  5. A book about relationships –
  6. A book about science –
  7. A book about business –
  8. A book about self-improvement –
  9. A book about religion/theology –
  10. A book about finance –
  11. A book you were supposed to read in high school –
  12. A book about art –
  13. A book originally in a different language –
  14. A book more than 100 years old –
  15. A book set in a country other than the UK / US / Australia* –
  16. A book that won the Pulitzer prize –
  17. A classic –
  18. A banned book –
  19. A book about language /communication –
  20. A book about music –
  21. A book about politics* –
  22. A book set in a different century* –
  23. A book by an Indian author* –
  24. A book by a non US / UK / Australian / Indian author* –
  25. A book about travel* –
  26. A book about a sport* –
  27. A book about photography* –
  28. A book about true crime* –
  29. A book about outer space* –
  30. A book about economics* –
  31. A book about a significant historical event* –
  32. A book about animals* –

    (*) Added by me

    Ps. The books don’t necessarily have to be non fiction 😉


    This month, I joined a few book groups on Goodreads. Mostly because I want to read books that don’t fall directly into my comfort zone. Of course, I mostly ended up joining a YA group or two. I couldn’t help myself. But, I’ve also joined a group that reads only non-fiction. And I’ve been making an effort to read books I wouldn’t have bothered with before. So it’s working. Kind of. I came across this reading challenge posted by Emily May on Goodreads and found it pretty cool, so I’m going to try to do about one of these books a month. I’m not attempting to complete it in 2016 – I’ve already got a lot on my plate. But this challenge will take precedence over my book group picks.

    Leave a comment