Books

Book: Forever, Jack (Butler Cove #2) ~ Natasha Boyd 

Genre: New Adult Romance 

It’s been six entire books since Eversea and I don’t know how I made it so far. I wanted to wait until reading Forever, Jack, because I didn’t want Keri Ann’s and Jack’s story to be over, and also because I wanted to have reading material to look forward to that I knew would be great. But after six mediocre books in a row, I couldn’t stay away.

Oh. My. Jack.

If I didn’t love him before (which I totally did), then he’s definitely captured my heart now. Quite possibly for good. I am ruined for any other man. Okay, seriously though, I used to think that romance was not my thing and it’s a genre I mostly steer clear of. But Eversea and Forever, Jack have made me realise that maybe I was just reading the wrong books all along. Because they were the most interesting, captivating, beautiful books; but more importantly because they made me feel warm and tingly and excited and squeal-y and I wanted to laugh and to cry with happiness. 

I said that Eversea was a story that we’d all seen before. Forever, Jack isn’t. The Hollywood-star-meets-small-town-girl storyline is left behind as we explore newer depths with the same fresh writing style. There’s never a dull moment, and I found myself struggling between the need to read more and the urge to slow down because I did not want the story to be over. Again, I took way too long reading this book because I kept rereading and replaying scenes in my head. There’s a lot more Jack in this book – we get to see entire sections from his POV and I love that. I love him. The journal was a brilliant touch. I am a nosy curious thing, and to get to read someone’s – and not just anyone’s, but Jack’s – journal was exhilarating for me. In fact, everything for about 80% of the book was perfect. And then there was Keri Ann. Keri Ann, who was perfect in Eversea, who started being too whiny and picking unnecessary fights. Don’t get me wrong, I’d probably be worse than Keri Ann in the situation. But she’s better than that, and I didn’t like it. The end was kind of abrupt, and though the epilogue tried very hard to wrap it up with a nice big bow, it said nothing of how Keri Ann’s greatest fears finally got resolved. Maybe we’ll learn about that in My Star, My Love? I hope so. The book didn’t leave me on the high I experienced almost throughout, but it’s still a very special book that’s earned it’s spot on my all time favourites shelf. And for that Natasha Boyd, thank you. 

Rating: 9/10

Ps. Whoever does the covers for Natasha’s books is a genius. I could stare at them forever and never have enough. So utterly touching and meaningful and beautiful in the best possible way. 

Leave a comment